top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAvondale Church

"Do you love me?"

By Derek Bailey

Image credit: David Stanley


This weekend we said some good-byes to Toria, as she embarks on her mission to Colombia. She has been instrumental in some of the local ministries, but none more prominent than her role as worship team member. She joined Jimmy to sing "Who You Say I Am."

From the lyrics,

Yes I am who you say I am

Who the Son sets free

Oh, is free indeed

I'm a child of God

Yes I am

When I hear Toria sing these lines, I know she's a child of God and everyone else within earshot knows they are too. Thank you, Toria.

And then Roy asked for prayers for someone he is ministering to. The incredible thing about Roy is he is among the newly baptized from our Easter service. Talk about getting on board with the mission!

Empty Nets Without Christ

Pastor Josh framed Christ's third appearance to the disciples in this way.

Some days after the resurrection, Jesus's disciples felt lost and alone. They demonstrated that through returning to life before Christ. Yes, He had appeared to them - twice in fact - in locked rooms. Thomas even examined Christ's wounds, but collectively they acted as if there was no mission without Jesus.

"I'm going out to fish," Simon Peter told them, and they said, "We'll go with you." So they went out and got into the boat, but that night they caught nothing. (John 21:3)

Isn't that often what we do? Return to the familiar with similar (no fish) results. We do so even if the familiar is a hurt, habit or hang up.

Without recognizing him at first, Jesus appears to them from the shore.

He called out to them, "Friends, haven't you any fish?"


"No," they answered.


He said, "Throw your net on the right side of the boat and you will find some."

When they did, they were unable to haul the net in because of the large number of fish. The the disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, "It is the Lord!" As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, "It is the Lord," he wrapped his outer garment around him and jumped into the water. (John 21:4-7)

It is fully in Peter's character to be brash and impetuous. Of course he dove into the water to be the first ashore with Christ.

Do You Love Me?

Jesus had a fire on the shore ready for them to prepare breakfast. Pastor Josh reminds us that this is only the second fire mentioned in the Gospels. The first was outside the chief priests house where Jesus was being held. And by that fire, Peter denied Christ three times as Jesus had predicted.

Jesus said to Simon Peter, "Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?" (John 21:15)

That loaded question with the word "these" strikes at the core of all Christ-like followers. It implies work, family, friends, money, comfort and all of the other distractions of ordinary life.

"Yes, Lord," he said, "you know that I love you." Jesus said, "Feed my lambs."

Again Jesus said, "Simon son of John, do you love me?" He answered, "Yes Lord, you know that I love you." Jesus said, "Take care of my sheep."

The third time he said to him, "Simon son of John, do you love me?"

Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him a third time, "Do you love me?" He said, "Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you." Jesus said, "Feed my sheep..." (John 21:15-17)

Josh again reminds us why Jesus asked Peter, "Do you love me?" three times. This matched all of Peter's denials and re-framed the mission Jesus had for Peter. And more to the point each of our denials, Jesus knows in our hearts where we stand.

So if any one asks, "Do you love [Jesus]?" your true answer is known to Him before you speak. As imperfect as we all are, in every way we try to model a Christ-like life, we fall short as did Peter.

None of that matters. Move forward, and remember we each have a mission.

Peace and love brothers and sisters.


-Pop Pop


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page